Leveraging the collective impact of Tacoma-area government

Several public sector governments including the City of Tacoma, Tacoma Public Schools, Port of Tacoma, and Metro Parks Tacoma have spent years working together, coordinating efforts with other governing bodies for the common good of Tacoma residents. This group has grown over time to include: Pierce County, the Puyallup Tribe of Indians, and Pierce Transit.

2021 Initiative: Creating a more resilient and anti-racist community

Policy-makers from the Joint Municipal Action Committee (JMAC) acknowledge the inherent realities that systematic racism is present in governmental systems. Additionally, in the wake of COVID-19, our municipalities must abandon the question “when do we go back to normal?” That outlook ignores the immense disparities in what different Tacoma residents experience as normal. It wastes the rare opportunity to re-imagine what a more equitable and anti-racist community might look like.

As demands from the public coupled with state and federal mandates stretch available resources, our community’s success hinges on better alignment and coordination of all governmental entities, including more transparent communication, well-crafted agreements, effective day-to-day performance, and mutual goodwill.


Many of the agencies within the Joint Municipal Action Committee (JMAC) have formal agreements in place for joint and cooperative action. This interlocal coordination has reduced duplication, improved communication, offered economies of scale, and generally improved governmental efficiency.

Committees, work plans and agendas

Policy-makers of JMAC desire to strengthen this collaboration and to build on their past efforts. They have appointed a Steering Committee to facilitate the development and implementation of the 2021 initiative to create a more resilient and anti-racist community. Members include:

  • Elizabeth Bonbright, Chair, Tacoma Public Schools
  • Kristina Walker, Vice-Chair, City of Tacoma
  • Andrea Smith, Metro Parks Tacoma
  • Jessie Baines, Metro Parks Tacoma
  • Keith Blocker, City of Tacoma
  • Deanna Keller, Port of Tacoma
  • Marty Campbell, Pierce County
  • Ryan Mello, Pierce County
  • David Bean, Puyallup Tribe of Indians
  • Korey Strozier, Tacoma Public Schools