Deanna Keller

Commissioner | Position #3

First elected to commission: 2019
Current term ends: December 2023
Current Commission Office: Secretary

Deanna Keller is a native Washingtonian and longtime Pierce County resident. Keller is a Marine Corps veteran who served for five years in the “President’s Own” United States Marine Band in Washington, D.C. She graduated from Western Washington University with a bachelor’s degree, a master’s degree from Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois, and worked toward a doctorate degree at the Catholic University of America in Washington, D.C. 

Keller was the co-owner of Kel-Tech Plastics Inc., a Tacoma-based custom plastics fabricator and served as its CEO and president from 2008 to 2020. Prior to Kel-Tech, she held a variety of positions over her 24-year career with the Puyallup and Clover Park School Districts, including high school teacher, district program administrator and school principal. 

Keller has been active as a business advisor for Tacoma School District’s middle school STEM program and worked with the Economic Development Board for Tacoma-Pierce County on its “Place for Jobs” initiative. She served on the board of trustees of the Broadway Center for the Performing Arts (now Tacoma Arts Live) for eight years. She participates as a member of the Transportation Club of Tacoma, Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber, Tacoma Propeller Club, Rotary Club of Gig Harbor and the Northwest Marine Trade Association. 

Keller is focused on economic development and recovery working to ensure that there is equal access and training for career, family-wage jobs in Pierce County. As a former business owner, she is committed to responsible environmental stewardship practices that exceed regulatory standards. A collaborative leader, she has been working closely with other local and state governmental agencies to maximize multiple agency resources.

Port of Tacoma Committees

The Northwest Seaport Alliance Work Groups/Committees  

  • Audit Committee (co-chair)
  • Internal Governance Work Group
  • Environmental Committee
  • Orca Task Force
  • Sustainability Work Group 

Outside Boards & Committees