Port of Tacoma Commission

The Port of Tacoma is lead by five commissioners who are elected to four-year terms by the citizens of Pierce County.

Meet the commission

Eric Johnson, Executive Director

Eric Johnson

Email: Eric.Johnson@portoftacoma.com

Eric Johnson joined the Port of Tacoma as executive director in 2019. He is a native of Pierce County and holds a bachelor’s degree in biology and political science from Pacific Lutheran University and a master’s in public administration with a concentration in environmental policy and natural resources management from the University of Washington.

Prior to joining the Port of Tacoma, Johnson served as the executive director of the Washington Public Ports Association.

Johnson is responsible for the overall management and administration of the Port and implementing the goals and strategic direction as set by the Port Commissioners. His duties also include identifying economic development strategies and serving as the Port’s liaison with the Puyallup Tribe of Indians.

Johnson currently serves on the boards of the Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber of Commerce and the Economic Development Board for Tacoma-Pierce County (EDB), as well as the EDB’s Executive Committee.