June 7, 2022
As leaders meet this week at the IMO’s Marine Environment Protection Committee (MEPC) – 78th session, the Port of Tacoma and partners at the Northwest Seaport Alliance and Port of Seattle continue our advocacy for stronger international regulations to reduce greenhouse gas emissions.
May 17, 2022
Port commission meetings are held at the Fabulich Center, 3600 Port of Tacoma Road, room 104. The agenda and link to the livestream of the meeting can be found here. Meeting videos also archived for later viewing.
May 16, 2022
The Port of Tacoma has been selected to receive a $500,000 Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Brownfields Assessment Grant to assist in efforts to bring brownfields and other high-priority sites within the Tacoma Tideflats back into productive use with new businesses and family-wage jobs.
April 29, 2022
Taylor Way will be closed in both directions between SR 509 and Lincoln Avenue for roadway striping from 4 a.m. Saturday, May 7, to 4 a.m. Sunday, May 8.
April 15, 2022
Working in partnership with the Puyallup Tribe of Indians and their Historic Preservation Office, the Port of Tacoma has completed the first phase of its new Lower Wapato Creek habitat restoration site. This project has restored nearly 20 acres of wetland and forest buffer to create an enhanced environment for fish, birds, and other local wildlife.
February 17, 2022
At their January meeting, Port commissioners designated commission officer positions for the upcoming year, with Don Meyer serving as Port of Tacoma commission president and Deanna Keller as vice president for 2022. The commission president also serves as co-chair of The Northwest Seaport Alliance.
February 16, 2022
In her latest post, our inimitable Port Biologist turns realtor and gives us an overview of some prime beaver digs in the Port’s Upper Clear Creek Mitigation Site.
February 15, 2022
The Thursday, Feb. 17, 2022, commission meeting will be held in a hybrid format with the public invited to attend remotely by watching the livestream on the Port’s website or listening by phone. The meeting call in number is (253) 617-4257, enter conference ID: 171 774 947#.
January 21, 2022
Three Port of Tacoma Commissioners took the oath of office at their Jan. 20 meeting. Commissioners Marzano, McCarthy and Meyer are all serving additional four-year terms after being re-elected by voters in the November election. They were sworn in by the Honorable Philip K. Sorensen, Presiding Judge Pierce County Superior Court.