Port of Tacoma commissioners selected Don Meyer as commission president for 2018.

Port of Tacoma commissioners today selected Don Meyer as commission president for 2018.

Meyer, who was first elected to the commission in November 2010, succeeds Dick Marzano as president.

Pierce County voters re-elected Meyer and Marzano this past November.

John McCarthy, who also was elected in November, will be sworn in at the January meeting, replacing longtime Commissioner Connie Bacon, who chose not to run for re-election.

The Port’s five commissioners serve four-year terms. Officer positions rotate yearly.

2018 Port of Tacoma Commission

  • Don Meyer, president
  • Clare Petrich, vice president
  • Don Johnson, secretary
  • John McCarthy, first assistant secretary
  • Dick Marzano, second assistant secretary

Commission meetings and study sessions are open to the public. They are held in Room 104 of The Fabulich Center at 3600 Port of Tacoma Rd. Meetings also are available for viewing live and on demand.

About Don Meyer

Don Meyer is the former executive director of the Foss Waterway Development Authority and a former deputy executive director of the Port of Tacoma.

Meyer currently serves on the Pierce County Regional Council, South King County Transportation Board, Tacoma Waterfront Association and Tacoma-Pierce County Economic Development Board. He is a member of the Alaska State Chamber of Commerce, the Fife/Milton/Edgewood Area Chamber of Commerce and the Transportation Club of Tacoma.

He served on former Gov. Christine Gregoire’s Connecting Washington Task Force on transportation issues, is a member of Tacoma Rotary #8 and owns a small business in Pierce County.

Born and raised on a South Dakota farm, Meyer holds a bachelor’s degree in business from Pacific Lutheran University and a master’s degree in business administration from the University of South Dakota.