Port of Tacoma commissioners today welcomed their newest member, John McCarthy, as well as re-elected commissioners Dick Marzano and Don Meyer.

All three were sworn in by Pierce County Superior Court Presiding Judge Elizabeth Martin Thursday at the first commission meeting of the year.

Pierce County voters elected McCarthy in November, replacing longtime Commissioner Connie Bacon, who chose not to run for re-election.

Marzano and Meyer were re-elected to the other two commission seats up for a vote.

Commission meetings and study sessions are open to the public. They are held in Room 104 of The Fabulich Center at 3600 Port of Tacoma Rd. Meetings also are available for viewing live and on demand.

About John McCarthy

A former Pierce County District and Superior Court judge for more than 22 years, John McCarthy recently retired from the bench. He worked as a longshoreman for 10 years and served previously on the Port of Tacoma Commission from 1983 to 1992.

McCarthy has been a member of the Washington State Bar Association since 1975 and volunteers at Mount Rainier National Park. He is an honorary life member of the Washington Public Ports Association. He was the first member of the Boys and Girls Club of South Puget Sound’s to be selected to their Alumni Hall of Fame, and he continues to officiate high school football.

He earned a bachelor’s degree in Science with a minor in Mathematics from Seattle University and a law degree from the University of San Francisco.