Tacoma Port Commission elects 2020 officers

Port of Tacoma commissioners selected John McCarthy as commission president and co-chair of The Northwest Seaport Alliance for 2020.

McCarthy, who was elected to the commission in November 2017, succeeds Clare Petrich as president. He previously served on the Port of Tacoma Commission from 1983 to 1992.

The commissioners approved the officer positions at the special commission meeting on Jan. 13, 2020. The positions rotate yearly.

2020 Port of Tacoma Commission

  • John McCarthy, president
  • Dick Marzano, vice president
  • Don Meyer, secretary
  • Deanna Keller, first assistant secretary
  • Kristin Ang, second assistant secretary

The commission also appointed Marzano as chair and Keller as vice chair for the 2020 Audit Committee.

The five-member commission is the governing body of the Port, setting policy and authorizing major expenditures. The Port commissioners serve four-year terms.

Commission meetings and study sessions are open to the public. They are held in Room 104 of The Fabulich Center at 3600 Port of Tacoma Rd. Meetings also are available for viewing live and on demand.

About John McCarthy

A former Pierce County District and Superior Court judge for more than 22 years, John McCarthy recently retired from the bench. He worked as a longshoreman for 10 years and served previously on the Port of Tacoma Commission from 1983 to 1992. McCarthy has been a member of the Washington State Bar Association since 1975 and volunteers at Mount Rainier National Park. He is an honorary life member of the Washington Public Ports Association. He also serves on the Pierce County Regional Council and as the Port of Tacoma’s Tribal Liaison. He was the first member of the Boys and Girls Club of South Puget Sound’s to be selected to their Alumni Hall of Fame, and he continues to officiate high school football. He earned a bachelor’s degree in Science with a minor in Mathematics from Seattle University and a law degree from the University of San Francisco.