Marzano to lead 2017 Tacoma Port Commission

Port of Tacoma commissioners Thursday named Dick Marzano to lead the 2017 Commission. Marzano, who was first elected to the Commission in November 1995, succeeds Connie Bacon as president. 

The Port’s five commissioners serve four-year terms. Officer positions rotate yearly. 

  • 2017 Port of Tacoma Commission
  • Dick Marzano, president
  • Don Meyer, vice president
  • Clare Petrich, secretary
  • Don Johnson, first assistant secretary
  • Connie Bacon, second assistant secretary

Commission meetings and study sessions are open to the public. They are held in Room 104 of The Fabulich Center at 3600 Port of Tacoma Rd. Meetings also are available for viewing live and on demand.

About Dick Marzano
A Tacoma longshore worker for more than 36 years, Dick Marzano served as president of the International Longshore and Warehouse Union Local 23 for six years.

Marzano serves on the Puget Sound Gateway Project Executive Committee, Washington Public Ports Association's Board of Trustees, Puget Sound Regional Council's Executive Board, Pierce County Sheriff's Office Executive Advisory Board and the Valley Cities Association Board. He has served on WPPA's six-member executive committee.

He is a former member of the Freight Mobility Strategic Investment Board, appointed by former Washington Govs. Gary Locke and Chris Gregoire.

Marzano is also a member of the Tacoma Propeller Club, Transportation Club of Tacoma, and a former board member of the Foss Waterway Development Authority and St. Leo's Hospitality Kitchen.

Media contact: