Johnson to lead 2015 Tacoma Port Commission

Port of Tacoma commissioners have named Don Johnson to lead the 2015 Commission. Johnson, who was first elected to the Commission in November 2007, succeeds Commissioner Clare Petrich as president. 

The Port’s five commissioners serve four-year terms. Officer positions rotate yearly. 

2015 Port of Tacoma Commission
Don Johnson, president
Connie Bacon, vice president
Dick Marzano, secretary
Don Meyer, first assistant secretary
Clare Petrich, second assistant secretary

Commission meetings and study sessions are open to the public. They are held in Room 104 of The Fabulich Center at 3600 Port of Tacoma Rd. Meetings also are available for viewing live and on demand from the Port's website at

About Don Johnson
Don Johnson is the former vice president and general manager of Simpson Tacoma Kraft, a leading Tacoma pulp and paper producer.

Johnson serves on the Puget Sound Regional Council’s Transportation Policy Board and Goodwill’s Finance Committee. He chairs the Goodwill Foundation Board and is the immediate past chair of the MultiCare Health Care Foundation. He also serves as chair of the Port of Tacoma Audit Committee.

He is a former chair of the Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber Board, the University of Washington Business School Advisory Board, the United Way of Pierce County Board and the United Way’s Annual Campaign. He chaired the search committee for the Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber CEO and is a member of both the Transportation Club of Tacoma and Tacoma Propeller Club.

Johnson holds a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from the University of Washington. 

He lives in Edgewood.

About the Port of Tacoma
The Port of Tacoma is an economic engine for South Puget Sound. A major gateway to Asia and Alaska, the Port of Tacoma is among the largest container ports in North America. The Port is also a major center for bulk, breakbulk and project/heavy-lift cargoes, as well as automobiles and trucks.

Media contact: